Apply for The AKO Caine Prize Award For Africa Writing


The AKO Caine Prize for African Writing is a registered charity whose aim is to bring African writing to a wider audience using our annual literary award. In addition to administering the Prize, we work to connect readers with African writers through a series of public events, as well as helping emerging writers in Africa to enter the world of mainstream publishing through the annual Caine Prize writers’ workshop which takes place in a different African country each year.


  • The story must have been published in the five years preceding the submissions deadline. For 2023 eligibility, the judges will only consider work published between 1st February 2018 and 25th January 2023.

  • Entries must be more than 3,000 words or less than 10,000 words.

  • Entries must be submitted by a publisher. This includes publishers of physical and digital books, literary journals, magazines, and literary arts oriented websites.

  • Writers must be over 18 years of age at the time of submission

  • Self-published and unpublished works are not eligible.

  • Publishers are encouraged to submit multiple short stories as long as they do not submit more than one story by the same author.

  • Stories may only be entered for consideration for the AKO Caine Prize once. Unfortunately this means that you may not re-submit a story for consideration, even if it was not selected for the shortlist.

  • Genres not eligible for entry include: stories for children, factual writing, academnic essays, plays, poetry and autobiography/biography.

  • Submissions must specify which African country the author comes from and the short story word count.

  • Publishers are required to upload a ‘publisher’s letter’ with each submission. See below for more information:

What should the publisher’s letter include? 

Publishers are required to provide:

  • Name of the writer(s).

  • Title of the story or stories being submitted.

  • Word count of each submitted story.

  • The qualifying nationality of the writer(s)

  •  The date of publication of the story or stories.

  • Confirmation of consent from the writer(s) whose stories are being submitted for the Prize.

Application deadline: January 26, 2023.

For more information and application, visit their official website here. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here